Cultivating GOOD Mornings

Anytime I’m out at the start of the day, I try to wish most people I encounter a Good Morning. I think it’s time I start wishing for Good Mornings for myself and working to have them.

This is an absolute work in progress, but here are some ideas that I like for going beyond the non-negotiable morning stuff ( It might be realistic to choose a few that work for that particular day and just purpose to be positive. I will probably never do all of these every morning. let’s get real! but I love having a lot of ideas to work with).

[disclaimer- I work from home, set my own schedule, and have no pets or children. These factors all greatly affect my morning routine. Take what makes sense to you and forget the rest. This is only meant to chronicle my own attempts to grow and improve. I’m only speaking for myself here- the only life I know how to live is my own.]

Ideas for cultivating good mornings:

: Carve out the time– I give myself extra time because my schedule allows it, BUT it’s not about how much time there is in the morning. purposing to do one or two kind things to start my day on the right foot benefits everyone in my life. it’s good to live a positive, happy life, and we all DESERVE that. In finance terms, we often hear of paying yourself first with automatic savings etc. This is that same concept but in terms of time management. Rather than leaving it to the end of the day and then having it not be given at all, it’s great if I can just give myself a couple of precious minutes to do something (anything!) on purpose, to start the day off right. Whatever makes me feel good!!

: wake up earlier to have time to start the day on the right foot, cultivate calm and lean into my day.

: smile (an act of gratitude for a new day) {it’s such a beautiful thing to smile just for yourself}

: make the bed. I read somewhere that “the state of your bed is the state of your life” I just LOVED that. Making the bed has become a MUST DO for me every single day {especially given that I work at home}, and it’s true… if the bed is unmade, my husband knows I’m having one heck of a day. It’s a small act of kindness to give to my future, “bedtime self” {kind of like cleaning the house before you go away on vacation, just because it’s nice to come home to}”

: open the blinds, curtains, windows. let some light & fresh air in.

LOVE this quote about that: “Every morning when I open my curtains for that first look at the day, no matter what the day looks like—raining, foggy, overcast, sunny—my heart swells with gratitude. I get another chance. When you think about it, it’s truly awesome: seven billion people finding their way in the world” -Oprah

: stretch,

: take a few deep breaths

: read and review my life vision (not just once a in while) {if it’s long then create a highlight reel (on a post it or an electronic version) to quickly review every day}

: read something positive (a favourite quote, etc.)

: write something positive (a post it note to myself, a quick note in a journal, etc.)

: check the weather to be prepared and plan the day

: a short meditation/ a spiritual moment

: drink water

: eat a healthy breakfast

: plan for success in my day : make a to do list for the day, prepare/pack healthy food, extra water bottles, etc.

: good music while getting ready

Here’s to GOOD MORNINGS and doing the work to cultivate a POSITIVE life!

One thought on “Cultivating GOOD Mornings

  1. Pingback: Meditation Series Update – Cultivating Calm | Hey Thirties

Leave a comment